About Iridology

Iridology complements all therapeutic sciences because it provides vital information needed in order to establish the root cause of ailments, revealing the appropriate treatments required.

Iridology is a safe, non-invasive analytical science, which can be integrated with both orthodox and complementary medicine.

Iridology helps the patient learn about their strengths and weaknesses and become more aware of what they can do to help themselves. The Iridologist will guide the patient as to the best ways of reversing existing conditions and managing genetic weaknesses.

So what is it?

Iridology is the study of the ‘Iris’ of the eye – the exposed nerve endings which make up the coloured part of the eye, each of which are connected to the brain.

A trained Iridologist sees the exposed nerve endings as a ‘map’, revealing information about:

  • the body’s genetic strengths and weaknesses
  • levels of inflammation and toxaemia
  • the efficiency of the eliminative systems and organs

In the hands of those who are well versed in the pathology of the pathways of disease, as well as anatomy and physiology, this provides a veritable microchip of information.

The 3 main constitutional types

There are 3 main Iris colour types, namely Brown, Blue and Grey. There is also an exception to these basic types known as a Biliary or Mixed Constitution, namely part blue and part brown. This type display a combination of factors that are found in both the blue and the brown eyed types.

Where the iris pigmentation is slight, the iris appears blue as is commonly found in the northern European type, where less pigmentation is required for protection against intense sunlight. On the other hand, with an increase in pigmentation, the colour becomes more grey and proceeds to brown and on to dark brown, as is found in the Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, African and Indian types. Over the generations, interbreeding has, in some instances produced a mixed genotype known as a Biliary Constitution, where the person inherits the strengths and weaknesses of both the brown and blue eyed constitutions.

We are therefore left with 3 distinct groupings:

the blue eyed constitution known as the Lymphatic Type;
the pure brown eyed constitution known as the Haematogenic Type;
and the combination of the two being the Mixed or Biliary Type.